PhotoLine 18.01

Hier diskutieren die Betatester von PhotoLine untereinander und mit den Entwicklern
User avatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 4001
Joined: Mon 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Location: Bad Gögging

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Gerhard Huber »

ellhel wrote:Wenn man mit dem "Hilfecursor" auf den "Linealursprungspunkt" klickt öffnet sich: "1.1 Vertriebskonzept von PhotoLine".Besser wäre ein Verweis auf "7.3.21 Justierhilfen/Lineale anzeigen ". :wink:
er findet keine Hilfe und zeigt daher die "Defaulthilfe" an. Das müssen wir uns ansehen.
ellhel wrote:Es wäre auch schön wenn man im Dialog den man mit einem Doppelklick auf den "Linealursprungspunkt" öffnet, einen "schnellen Rücksetzbutton" hätte. Dann erspart man sich die nummerische Eingabe der "Nullen".
ich werde einbauen, dass Shift-Doppelklick den Punkt resettet.
ellhel wrote:Achso....wenn man in diesem Dialog die Hilfe öffnet erscheint die Hilfe zum "Farbpositions-Werkzeug".
er zeigt die Hilfe des aktiven Werkzeugs, weil auch hier keine Hilfe gefunden wird. Wir werden uns das ansehen.

Gerhard
User avatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 4001
Joined: Mon 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Location: Bad Gögging

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Gerhard Huber »

ellhel wrote:Im Druckdialog ist etwas Text abgeschnitten.
Das ist "nur" im dunklen Modus so. Ich werde das korrigieren.

Gerhard
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Martin Huber »

bkh wrote:
JulianZI wrote: 9) Wenn man die Option "Immer PLD speichern" benutzt, sollte diese Option für eine JPEG Datei deaktiviert sein, die man geöffnet hat und den "Trotzdem PLD Datei öffnen" Dialog mit Nein quittiert hat. Ansonsten läuft man Gefahr, eine wertvolle PLD Datei mit JPEG Daten zu überscheiben.
Guter Punkt. Noch bessser fände ich es, wenn PL beim Speichern fragen würde, ob die alte PLD überschrieben werden soll – ansonsten verlässt man sich ja darauf, dass die JPEG parallel verlustlos gespeichert wird.
Das macht PhotoLine momentan doch schon. Oder habe ich etwas falsch verstanden?

Martin
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Martin Huber »

bkh wrote:Beim Werkzeug "Vektorpunkte bearbeiten" funktioniert hier das Einrasten an automatischen Hilfslinien nicht richtig. Wenn ich "Ausrichten an Hilfslinien" einschalte und in den Einstellungen unter Ansicht -> Hilfslinien "Alt-Taste invertiert das Rasten auf Hilfslinien" einschalte, dann rasten die Vektorpunkte nicht auf Hilfslinien (die Alt-Taste habe ich nicht gedrückt, aber sie hat ja bei dem Tool eh eine andere Wirkung). Ebenso bei automatischen Hilfslinien und dem Hilfsgitter. Meiner Meinung nach sollte die Voreinstellung für die Alt-Taste bei dem Tool keine Wirkung haben.
Bei mir funktioniert das ohne Probleme. Vektorpunkte rasten unabhängig von der Voreinstellung für die Alt-Taste an den (automatischen) Hilfslinien ein. Tritt das Problem bei dir immer auf?

Martin
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Martin Huber »

bkh wrote:Ich habe noch ein kleines Problem beim SVG-Export mit Text festgestellt. Bei der Beispieldatei im Anhang wird der Leerraum nach dem Punkt beim SVG-Export zu klein – ich habe es mit Times New Roman und Helvetica getestet.
Ja, da ist ein Fehler. Ich werde mir das ansehen.

Martin
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Herbert123 »

The 3d body tool seems to have a problem with inverted normals when applied to certain OTF fonts:

http://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.ph ... 823#p27823

Adobe Caslon Pro, for example, is problematic.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
bkh
Betatester
Posts: 3661
Joined: Thu 26 Nov 2009 22:59

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by bkh »

Martin Huber wrote:
bkh wrote:Beim Werkzeug "Vektorpunkte bearbeiten" funktioniert hier das Einrasten an automatischen Hilfslinien nicht richtig. Wenn ich "Ausrichten an Hilfslinien" einschalte und in den Einstellungen unter Ansicht -> Hilfslinien "Alt-Taste invertiert das Rasten auf Hilfslinien" einschalte, dann rasten die Vektorpunkte nicht auf Hilfslinien (die Alt-Taste habe ich nicht gedrückt, aber sie hat ja bei dem Tool eh eine andere Wirkung). Ebenso bei automatischen Hilfslinien und dem Hilfsgitter. Meiner Meinung nach sollte die Voreinstellung für die Alt-Taste bei dem Tool keine Wirkung haben.
Bei mir funktioniert das ohne Probleme. Vektorpunkte rasten unabhängig von der Voreinstellung für die Alt-Taste an den (automatischen) Hilfslinien ein. Tritt das Problem bei dir immer auf?
Ja, immer. Ich habe eben noch mal mit einem frischen PhotoLineSettings-Ordnder probiert (Justierhilfen sind aus, die Alt-Knöpfe für Hilfslinien und automatische Hilfslinien sind an). Wenn ich mit dem Kurvenwerkzeug eine Kurve zeichne und dann mit "Vektorpunkte bearbeiten" (oder auch der Vektorpunkte-Bearbeiten-Funktion des Kurvenwerkzeugs) Kurvenpunkte verschiebe, rasten sie an Hilfslinien und automat. Hilfslinien ein. Schalte ich die Justierhilfen ein, dann rasten die Punkte nicht mehr ein. Bild- oder Dokumentenmodus ergibt auch keinen Unterschied.

L.G.

Burkhard.
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Herbert123 »

Gerhard Huber wrote:
Herbert123 wrote:Or instead perhaps some sort of 'programmable" adjustment layer in Photoline that allows the user to use a javascript or a python based language to write our own procedural filter effects. That would allow Photoline users to share libraries of new adjustment layer effects/filters with each other.
that's not so easy. If it would be easy, Photohop would have non destructive soften and sharpen like PhotoLine.
PhotoLine has no programming interface, because it is much effort to implement it and there were not many asks for it in the past.

Gerhard
I understand the technical difficulties involved - I am just a bit concerned that Photoline has no scripting of some sort, and it makes it hard/impossible for experienced users to extend Photoline for their own use or share new functions/filters.

As a practical and intriguing example, Acorn (mac image editor), although it comes nowhere near Photoline's functionality, has one awesome function: users can write their own plugin filters in Python, and save those in the plugins folder. These custom filters then automatically become available as non-destructive layer adjustments!
Of course, Acorn probably was written from the ground up with this functionality, so the devs could easily write new filters, and open up their app for users to extend it themselves.

Perhaps similar functionality could be implemented in Photoline sometime in the upcoming years. Maybe even add in an extension system like Firefox and Chrome. It would open up Photoline for custom adjustment layer development by your users, and extend its potential even further. With Photoline now becoming a viable alternative for PH for many users, it could be a pretty amazing addition to an already very powerful tool, and raise it to the next level.

Anyway, just brainstorming and dreaming!
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Martin Huber »

Herbert123 wrote:The 3d body tool seems to have a problem with inverted normals when applied to certain OTF fonts:

http://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.ph ... 823#p27823

Adobe Caslon Pro, for example, is problematic.
I don't have Adobe Caslong Pro, but was able to reproduce the problem with a Garamond font. I fixed that problem problem. But it is as you said yourself in your response: The 3D body is intended for simple objects. For more complicated things a 3D renderer should be used.

Martin
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Martin Huber »

Herbert123 wrote:As a practical and intriguing example, Acorn (mac image editor), although it comes nowhere near Photoline's functionality, has one awesome function: users can write their own plugin filters in Python, and save those in the plugins folder. These custom filters then automatically become available as non-destructive layer adjustments!
Of course, Acorn probably was written from the ground up with this functionality, so the devs could easily write new filters, and open up their app for users to extend it themselves.
In my opinion it is less a matter of design but more a matter of functionality:

- All of the examples I've seen on their web page, are just using built-in functionality of either Acorn or Mac OS. None of them manipulates an image on a per-pixel basis. So at least their example plug-ins are more a kind of action than really a filter.

- The Acorn adjustment layers are directly connected to a single layer and don't have a mask. They can not manipulate the underlying document content. So they are more a layer style than an adjustment layer. It is not basic problem to allow access to plug-ins in PhotoLine's layer styles. The main problem is designing a user interface, that is not disadvantageous and more complicated for most users. And in my opinion Acorn's way is more complicated.

And if I see the redraw problems, that happen in combination with some of Acorn's adjustment layers, PhotoLine's current implementation of the Rotate View tool might be acceptable after all.

Martin
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Herbert123 »

Martin Huber wrote: In my opinion it is less a matter of design but more a matter of functionality:

- All of the examples I've seen on their web page, are just using built-in functionality of either Acorn or Mac OS. None of them manipulates an image on a per-pixel basis. So at least their example plug-ins are more a kind of action than really a filter.

- The Acorn adjustment layers are directly connected to a single layer and don't have a mask. They can not manipulate the underlying document content. So they are more a layer style than an adjustment layer. It is not basic problem to allow access to plug-ins in PhotoLine's layer styles. The main problem is designing a user interface, that is not disadvantageous and more complicated for most users. And in my opinion Acorn's way is more complicated.
Martin
All very true. I noticed some of these things myself when looking into the implementation they used.
Martin Huber wrote: And if I see the redraw problems, that happen in combination with some of Acorn's adjustment layers, PhotoLine's current implementation of the Rotate View tool might be acceptable after all.

Martin
:-P
I also noticed various glitches and redraw problems, and so on.

I merely like the basic idea behind some sort of scriptability, or custom user adjustment layer creation.

Btw, not sure if you remember Filter Factory (a plugin for Photoshop way back that was shipped with v5 or even before)? This guy created a compatible modern version that also works well in Photoline (32bit only) called "Filter Foundry":
http://www.telegraphics.com.au/sw/
It, like FilterMeister, allows for custom filter creation, and both can save an 8bf file.

Anyway, I do completely agree that it's all about accessibility and user-friendliness towards the user - the issue with these filter creators is that one must learn a complicated script language. Filter Forge does allow the user to work with nodes and build a filter visually, but these custom filters require the FF plugin to run (their business model prevents standalone filters).

Still, a version of Filter Foundry as a non-destructive adjustment layer would be kinda cool. But I do understand it opens up a whole new can of worms to deal with.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: PhotoLine 18.01

Post by Martin Huber »

bkh wrote:Ich habe eben noch mal mit einem frischen PhotoLineSettings-Ordnder probiert (Justierhilfen sind aus, die Alt-Knöpfe für Hilfslinien und automatische Hilfslinien sind an). Wenn ich mit dem Kurvenwerkzeug eine Kurve zeichne und dann mit "Vektorpunkte bearbeiten" (oder auch der Vektorpunkte-Bearbeiten-Funktion des Kurvenwerkzeugs) Kurvenpunkte verschiebe, rasten sie an Hilfslinien und automat. Hilfslinien ein.
Mit leeren Einstellungen konnte ich das Problem auch nachvollziehen. Ich denke, ich habe das Problem nun gefunden und behoben. In der nächsten Beta sollte es also funktionieren.

Martin