Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Hier diskutieren die Betatester von PhotoLine untereinander und mit den Entwicklern
User avatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 4001
Joined: Mon 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Location: Bad Gögging

Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Post by Gerhard Huber »

Hallo,

es gibt wieder eine neue Testversion 18.90b7.


Windows:
www.pl32.com/beta/pl1890b7.zip

Mac OS X:
www.pl32.com/beta/plx1890b7.zip


Neues:
- Malpinsel, Malstift, ...: Mit normalen Anzeigemodi
- Dokumentfenster: Dekorationen werden nur noch im aktive Fenster angezeigt
- Linienstile: Werden nun als XML gelesen/geschrieben
- Linienstil bearbeiten: Linienmuster kann mit Doppelklick geändert werden
- Ebenenliste: Tastenkürzel for vorhergehenden/nächsten Darstellungsmodus
- Verflüssigen-Werkzeug: Laden/Speichern/Kopieren/Einfügen von Verzerrungsbildern


diverse kleinere Fehlerbehebungen und Verbesserungen






Gerhard Huber [Computerinsel GmbH]
support@pl32.de - www.pl32.de
User avatar
ellhel
Mitglied
Posts: 1337
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2012 03:03
Location: Reiffelbach

Re: Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Post by ellhel »

Hallo,
Malpinsel, Malstift, ...: Mit normalen Anzeigemodi
das find ich super....Cool :mrgreen:

Liebe Grüße
Helmut
PhotoLine 21 & Betas, Win-10 Pro 64-bit, ACDSee Photo Studio Ultimate 2018, Dxo Optics Pro 9, Panasonic DMC-G6
"Der Nachteil der Intelligenz besteht darin, dass man ununterbrochen gezwungen ist, dazuzulernen."
George Bernard Shaw
User avatar
photoken
Mitglied
Posts: 2162
Joined: Sat 28 Sep 2013 01:25

Digimarc x64 plugin -- Fixed!

Post by photoken »

The problem with the Digimarc x64 plugin:
http://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4499
is fixed.

Thank you!
Ken
Yes, I think it can be eeeeeasily done....
Just take everything out on Highway 61.
User avatar
photoken
Mitglied
Posts: 2162
Joined: Sat 28 Sep 2013 01:25

Width of Blend Mode listbox

Post by photoken »

Win7 x64 SP1
PL 18.90b7 x64

The listboxes for the Paintbrush blend modes and the Layer blend modes need to be wider:
blend mode box.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ken
Yes, I think it can be eeeeeasily done....
Just take everything out on Highway 61.
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Post by Herbert123 »

Gerhard Huber wrote:Hallo,
Neues:
- Malpinsel, Malstift, ...: Mit normalen Anzeigemodi

- Dokumentfenster: Dekorationen werden nur noch im aktive Fenster angezeigt

diverse kleinere Fehlerbehebungen und Verbesserungen
Yes! blend modes for drawing!!! And being able to work in one window while the other window hides the frames/controls/vector points and handles is awesome! Vector masking is very pleasant now: the preview works great.

And THANK YOU for the subtle layer selection colour for multiple layer selections! That really makes life easier.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Post by Herbert123 »

Bug? Open an image, use Tool-->Color-->Reduce Colors, set to error diffusion dither method, and any colour count less than 32768. Result: black screen.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Post by Hoogo »

Herbert123 wrote:Bug? Open an image, use Tool-->Color-->Reduce Colors, set to error diffusion dither method, and any colour count less than 32768. Result: black screen.
No problem here. Maybe your palette was set to "loaded"?
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Width of Blend Mode listbox

Post by Martin Huber »

photoken wrote:The listboxes for the Paintbrush blend modes and the Layer blend modes need to be wider:
Space is very scarce in these dialogs, but I will make these popups at least resizable, so that they will grow along with their dialog.

Martin
User avatar
ellhel
Mitglied
Posts: 1337
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2012 03:03
Location: Reiffelbach

Re: Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Post by ellhel »

Hallo,

der Menüfehler ist bei mir immer noch da.
Menüfehler.jpg
Liebe Grüße
Helmut
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
PhotoLine 21 & Betas, Win-10 Pro 64-bit, ACDSee Photo Studio Ultimate 2018, Dxo Optics Pro 9, Panasonic DMC-G6
"Der Nachteil der Intelligenz besteht darin, dass man ununterbrochen gezwungen ist, dazuzulernen."
George Bernard Shaw
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Post by Martin Huber »

ellhel wrote:der Menüfehler ist bei mir immer noch da.
Tja, das wissen wir. Wir wissen nur leider nicht, wie man den Fehler reproduziert, denn er tritt auf keinem System auf, auf das wir Zugriff haben.
Und solange der Fehler bei uns nicht auftritt, können wir ihn leider auch nicht reparieren. Daher ist das dunkle Menü auch in der offiziellen Release abgeschaltet.

Martin
User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Neue Testversion 18.90b7

Post by Hoogo »

ellhel wrote:der Menüfehler ist bei mir immer noch da.Helmut
Dann probier doch gleich mal, ob er bei Dir auch nach Neustart des PCs verschwunden ist.
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
User avatar
photoken
Mitglied
Posts: 2162
Joined: Sat 28 Sep 2013 01:25

Re: Width of Blend Mode listbox

Post by photoken »

Martin Huber wrote:
photoken wrote:The listboxes for the Paintbrush blend modes and the Layer blend modes need to be wider:
Space is very scarce in these dialogs, but I will make these popups at least resizable, so that they will grow along with their dialog.
OK, it will be nice to see as much of the content as possible.
Ken
Yes, I think it can be eeeeeasily done....
Just take everything out on Highway 61.
User avatar
photoken
Mitglied
Posts: 2162
Joined: Sat 28 Sep 2013 01:25

Req: Option to disable selected layer colour

Post by photoken »

The additional colouring for selected layers is superfluous, because the checkbox already gives that information:
layer colours.png
Those additional layer colours make the Layer panel look too "busy", cluttered and confusing.

Can we have an option to turn off that selected layer colour? There seems to be enough space for that disable option in the dialog:
displlay options.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ken
Yes, I think it can be eeeeeasily done....
Just take everything out on Highway 61.
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Req: Option to disable selected layer colour

Post by Herbert123 »

photoken wrote:The additional colouring for selected layers is superfluous, because the checkbox already gives that information:
layer colours.png
Those additional layer colours make the Layer panel look too "busy", cluttered and confusing.

Can we have an option to turn off that selected layer colour? There seems to be enough space for that disable option in the dialog:
displlay options.png
I have done a little testing, and visually it looks much better when PL's interface colour is 128 or higher.

Check out my workspace:
screen_small.jpg
highres version here:
http://estructor.altervista.org/pl/screen.jpg

As you can tell, it is actually very helpful to the eyes to discriminate between selected layers. At a setting of 128 my layer panel workspace looks very good

I have mentioned this before: our eyes CANNOT distinguish those small checkboxes when they fall outside the very limited fovea centralis of our eyes.

Wikipedia extract [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fovea_centralis]:
The fovea sees only the central two degrees of the visual field, (approximately twice the width of your thumbnail at arm's length).[12] If an object is large and thus covers a large angle, the eyes must constantly shift their gaze to subsequently bring different portions of the image into the fovea (as in reading).
On my screen, and at the distance I work, it is physically impossible for my eyes (and human eyes in general) to distinguish which layers are multiple selected in the screenshot above with only the checkboxes. I am forced to keep shifting my eyes up and down to confirm which layers are selected - very tiresome.
WITH the additional selection colour I have no issues with this now. My eyes see the darker grey coloured rectangle at the bottom when I focus on the top selected darkest layer.

Now, aside from this, I do agree with you that there are some problems with the implementation. In dark mode (under 128) the colours do look quite distracting, and in Ken's example the problems are accentuated because there happen to be only three layers visible in the layer panel, with two selected. This results in three different shades of gray, and since there is no other visual context, it looks confusing which layers are selected, and which layer is not.

As you can tell from my screenshot, this poses less of an issue as long as there is a context of other non-selected layers displayed. In other applications, like Photoshop, the layer selection is solved by introducing a different highlight colour for seleced layers (Photoshop uses a mid-dark blue).

Secondly, with the GUI set to 127 or darker, or a brighter GUI setting, the current layer selection colour tints do not work as well. I agree with Ken on that point. The user requires more manual control, in my opinion. These selection colours are very hard (impossible?) to get right for all user preferences and GUI darkness settings in PL. (I assume that is one of the reasons for having a limited number of GUI darkness settings in applications like Photoshop, i.e., to prevent colour clashes when too much freedom is allowed).

Perhaps we could indeed have these additional options in the User Interface preferences:
1) turn off the selection highlighting for multiple selected layers for users who prefer the traditional checkbox only.
2) two additional layer selection colour boxes that control the colours for the active selected layer and one colour box for other selected layers.

If anything, I feel the time has come to offer us users a theme option, so we can create interface themes and share those with other users. It would also allow for a couple of controlled basic themes to be shipped with Photoline. In this case users could be given more control over the specific interface colours. That is the solution the Blender community uses, and it works really well.

Or just provide a way to save preference files the same way we can save presets for tools in PL. Users can switch to specific preference setups depending on the work they do.

Anyway, I do like the current selection highlighting - it already improves my workflow. I think users should be given a bit more control over the colours, though. They do not work that well in a dark PL GUI.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
User avatar
photoken
Mitglied
Posts: 2162
Joined: Sat 28 Sep 2013 01:25

Re: Req: Option to disable selected layer colour

Post by photoken »

Herbert123 wrote: Perhaps we could indeed have these additional options in the User Interface preferences:
1) turn off the selection highlighting for multiple selected layers for users who prefer the traditional checkbox only.
That is all I'm asking for. Without re-visiting the argument about good UI design, an option to disable the layer selection colours will make everyone happy.

When it comes to the colours (themes) used for the GUI, there is no one solution that will make everyone happy. That is why it is not good to force a colour scheme on users who prefer a dark UI, or a bright UI. So, your suggestion of implementing personalized "themes" for the UI makes sense. Having such "themes" might also address the display problem that two users are having with menu items -- those of us without display problems can use dark menu items in the release version and those with display problems can simply use a theme without dark menu items.
Ken
Yes, I think it can be eeeeeasily done....
Just take everything out on Highway 61.