Small request for the Layer-->Management-->Save Layer function.
I do a lot of compositing in video effects and 3d apps, and use PhotoLine for static asset creation - and then export the layers with above mentioned option.
But I always encounter the issue that PhotoLine will automatically crop the layers. Now, this is absolutely fine for game work and user interface work. But in video and FX work the layers must be imported "as is" which includes the empty space - otherwise the position is lost, and it is too imprecise and/or too much work to manually position assets in video/fx/animation software.
Bitmap layers can be expanded to the full canvas resolution, but other layers such as vector and text layers cannot. I use a work-around to fix this: add a transparent bitmap layer, and group it with those type of layers to force PhotoLine to export full sized canvas versions.
All this extra work would be avoided if a simple "export at canvas size" option would be included in the Save Layer function - saving hours of work potentially. The current default behaviour is great for other work, but terrible for video/fx/animation work.
Unless I am missing something, and it is already possible to export all the layers without cropping them?
PS Layered PSD export is not always an option either! Not all software reads PSD, and often the import is rather half-broken. The most reliable method is to save work in separate layers - at canvas size rather than cropped sizes.
Neue Testversion 22.90b10
-
- Mitglied
- Posts: 2064
- Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38
Re: Neue Testversion 22.90b10
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
-
- Entwickler
- Posts: 4073
- Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49
Re: Neue Testversion 22.90b10
No, layers are always exported using their native size.Herbert123 wrote: ↑Sat 05 Jun 2021 10:18 Small request for the Layer-->Management-->Save Layer function.
I do a lot of compositing in video effects and 3d apps, and use PhotoLine for static asset creation - and then export the layers with above mentioned option.
But I always encounter the issue that PhotoLine will automatically crop the layers.
(...)
Unless I am missing something, and it is already possible to export all the layers without cropping them?
Does the following script do what you want?
Code: Select all
Dim pl
Dim doc
Set pl = CreateObject("PhotoLine.Application")
Set doc = pl.ActiveDocument
pl.Visible = True
If Not doc Is Nothing Then
Dim exportPath
exportPath = doc.SaveDialog("Export Single Layers")
If Len(exportPath) > 0 Then
Dim extenderPosition
extenderPosition = InStrRev(exportPath, ".")
If (extenderPosition > 0) Then
Dim extender
Dim basePath
Dim pathIndex
extender = Right(exportPath, Len(exportPath) - extenderPosition + 1)
basePath = Left(exportPath, extenderPosition - 1)
pathIndex = 1
' Save every layer
For Each child in doc.RootLayer
Dim layerDoc
Dim childCopy
' Create a document based on the current layer
' 1: LCDInvisible
Set layerDoc = child.CreateDocument(1)
' make the document the same size as the active document
layerDoc.DocumentMode = True
layerDoc.Size = doc.Size
' place the copy of the current layer at the same location
Set childCopy = layerDoc.RootLayer.First
childCopy.MatrixToPage = child.MatrixToPage
' now save the result
exportPath = basePath & pathIndex & extender
' WScript.Echo exportPath
layerDoc.Export exportPath
' 1: CODontSave
layerDoc.Close 1
pathIndex = pathIndex + 1
Next
End If
End If
End If
Edit: Just for the sake of completeness: The same as AppleScript.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Mitglied
- Posts: 2064
- Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38
Re: Neue Testversion 22.90b10
That's exactly what I need! Thank you so much - this will save a LOT of time.
I will study the script.

I will study the script.
Martin Huber wrote: ↑Wed 09 Jun 2021 12:36No, layers are always exported using their native size.Herbert123 wrote: ↑Sat 05 Jun 2021 10:18 Small request for the Layer-->Management-->Save Layer function.
I do a lot of compositing in video effects and 3d apps, and use PhotoLine for static asset creation - and then export the layers with above mentioned option.
But I always encounter the issue that PhotoLine will automatically crop the layers.
(...)
Unless I am missing something, and it is already possible to export all the layers without cropping them?
Does the following script do what you want?
MartinCode: Select all
Dim pl Dim doc Set pl = CreateObject("PhotoLine.Application") Set doc = pl.ActiveDocument pl.Visible = True If Not doc Is Nothing Then Dim exportPath exportPath = doc.SaveDialog("Export Single Layers") If Len(exportPath) > 0 Then Dim extenderPosition extenderPosition = InStrRev(exportPath, ".") If (extenderPosition > 0) Then Dim extender Dim basePath Dim pathIndex extender = Right(exportPath, Len(exportPath) - extenderPosition + 1) basePath = Left(exportPath, extenderPosition - 1) pathIndex = 1 ' Save every layer For Each child in doc.RootLayer Dim layerDoc Dim childCopy ' Create a document based on the current layer ' 1: LCDInvisible Set layerDoc = child.CreateDocument(1) ' make the document the same size as the active document layerDoc.DocumentMode = True layerDoc.Size = doc.Size ' place the copy of the current layer at the same location Set childCopy = layerDoc.RootLayer.First childCopy.MatrixToPage = child.MatrixToPage ' now save the result exportPath = basePath & pathIndex & extender ' WScript.Echo exportPath layerDoc.Export exportPath ' 1: CODontSave layerDoc.Close 1 pathIndex = pathIndex + 1 Next End If End If End If
SaveSingleLayers.vbs.zip
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait