Gradient as a mask

PhilM
Mitglied
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 28 May 2015 18:00
Location: Belgium

Gradient as a mask

Post by PhilM »

I often use gradients as a layer or adjustment layer mask.
When I draw the gradient, it is inserted as a new layer in the stack.
If I try to drag the gradient onto a layer I want to mask, it is not possible to drop it on the layer ; only in between the existing layers.

There is a work-around.
If I create an empty mask for the layer I want, then I can drag my gradient to become a mask.
The empty mask can then be deleted.

The same happens with the "Mesh gradient".
And I suspect with any vector layer.

Why not allowing vectors as mask by drag and drop ?

Hope my explanation is understandable ... :D

Best regards

Phil
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3867
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Gradient as a mask

Post by Martin Huber »

PhilM wrote: Tue 17 Aug 2021 17:03 I often use gradients as a layer or adjustment layer mask.
When I draw the gradient, it is inserted as a new layer in the stack.
If I try to drag the gradient onto a layer I want to mask, it is not possible to drop it on the layer ; only in between the existing layers.
You are talking about dragging layers in the Layer List panel?
PhilM wrote: Tue 17 Aug 2021 17:03 There is a work-around.
If I create an empty mask for the layer I want, then I can drag my gradient to become a mask.
The empty mask can then be deleted.
This way you can drag a layer onto another one, but you will have to make it a clipping layer/layer mask afterwards.

Instead, if you make it a clipping layer before dragging it, you can drag it directly onto the layer you want to mask. The clipping layer then automatically becomes a layer mask.

Martin
PhilM
Mitglied
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 28 May 2015 18:00
Location: Belgium

Re: Gradient as a mask

Post by PhilM »

Here is an example with a black gradient on the grey mixer adjustment layer.
2021-08-18 12_03_50-PhotoLine 22.52 (64) - [_7090039.JPG_ (Vector, 3456x4608, 6%) ].jpg
2021-08-18 12_09_56-.jpg
I did not need to change the gradient to clipping layer
At this point, I can also delete the empty mask.


Phil
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
PhilM
Mitglied
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 28 May 2015 18:00
Location: Belgium

Re: Gradient as a mask

Post by PhilM »

Martin Huber wrote: Wed 18 Aug 2021 10:15
PhilM wrote: Tue 17 Aug 2021 17:03 I often use gradients as a layer or adjustment layer mask.
When I draw the gradient, it is inserted as a new layer in the stack.
If I try to drag the gradient onto a layer I want to mask, it is not possible to drop it on the layer ; only in between the existing layers.
You are talking about dragging layers in the Layer List panel?
Yes
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 961
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21

Re: Gradient as a mask

Post by shijan »

Image
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3867
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Gradient as a mask

Post by Martin Huber »

PhilM wrote: Wed 18 Aug 2021 12:19 Here is an example with a black gradient on the grey mixer adjustment layer.
Oh, I see.

I will change that, so that adjustment layers will accept dragging.

Martin
PhilM
Mitglied
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 28 May 2015 18:00
Location: Belgium

Re: Gradient as a mask

Post by PhilM »

Excellent !

Thanks