problem with 3d shadow

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
john smith
Mitglied
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 21 May 2004 02:41

problem with 3d shadow

Post by john smith » Fri 21 May 2004 02:46

i have evaluation version photoline 10.51, problem with 3d shadow .
all pictures and (layers) are "use transparency" but can`t get shadow outside of lasso selection.
I remember that earlier photoline versions 3d shadow making was very easy.
Now i must uninstal this 10.51 and find older version somewhere.
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

User avatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3663
Joined: Mon 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Location: Bad Gögging

Re: problem with 3d shadow

Post by Gerhard Huber » Sat 22 May 2004 08:55

john smith wrote:i have evaluation version photoline 10.51, problem with 3d shadow .
all pictures and (layers) are "use transparency" but can`t get shadow outside of lasso selection.
I remember that earlier photoline versions 3d shadow making was very easy.
Now i must uninstal this 10.51 and find older version somewhere
Do you use the layer effect 3d shadow or the function 3d shadow? I tested both just now and both worked fine.

Gerhard

Michael Roek-Ramirez
Betatester
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 16:16
Location: Darmstadt/Puebla/Shanghai

Take care

Post by Michael Roek-Ramirez » Mon 24 May 2004 19:24

Hello John:

Take care: it is NOT possible to just make a selection in a layer and generate a 3D shadow only effetive for that selection!
That shadow would be valid for the whole layer, and you dont see it as it is located outside of the layer, outside of the visible image.

Justa select the part you would like to have a shadow for.
Right click in that selection (or in the layer dialogue) and select "convert selection to layer".
Then apply the 3D shadow to that layer.

Regards
Michael