Vignetting

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
joe mama
Mitglied
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat 13 Mar 2004 09:54

Vignetting

Post by joe mama » Sat 18 Sep 2004 09:02

Vignetting, in terms of photography, is when the image gets progressively darker as you move away from the center of an image.

Is there a way using PL32, to create a filter that has a radial brightening pattern to undo this effect?

I hope my question makes sense -- I know what I want to say, just not how to say it! : )

User avatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3811
Joined: Mon 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Location: Bad Gögging

Re: Vignetting

Post by Gerhard Huber » Sat 18 Sep 2004 11:14

joe mama wrote:Vignetting, in terms of photography, is when the image gets progressively darker as you move away from the center of an image.
Is there a way using PL32, to create a filter that has a radial brightening pattern to undo this effect?
I would suggest to create a new "Clut-Working Layer". Then create a radial blend on this working layer (black to white) and increase the gamma in the Clut.

Gerhard

joe mama
Mitglied
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat 13 Mar 2004 09:54

Radial blend

Post by joe mama » Sat 18 Sep 2004 16:50

How do you create a radial blend?

User avatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3811
Joined: Mon 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Location: Bad Gögging

Re: Radial blend

Post by Gerhard Huber » Sat 18 Sep 2004 18:19

joe mama wrote:How do you create a radial blend?
First you create the Clut working layer. You will get a grey image layer. Here you can use the blend tool from the toolbar to create the radial blend.

Gerhard

joe mama
Mitglied
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat 13 Mar 2004 09:54

I did, but am still confused

Post by joe mama » Sat 18 Sep 2004 18:23

Here's what I did. I opened the image. Then I went to Layer, New Working Layer, CLUT. It defaulted to gray picture, and I clicked OK, the CLUT window came up, and I clicked OK again.

Then I clicked on the Color Blend on the tool bar and chose Radial. The chanel is set on Gray.

Here's where I get lost.

It says in the help to drag a line across to get the blend, but it does nothing. I'm not sure what to do after this point.

Thanks a lot for the help, by the way!

User avatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3811
Joined: Mon 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Location: Bad Gögging

Re: I did, but am still confused

Post by Gerhard Huber » Sun 19 Sep 2004 11:21

joe mama wrote:Here's what I did. I opened the image. Then I went to Layer, New Working Layer, CLUT. It defaulted to gray picture, and I clicked OK, the CLUT window came up, and I clicked OK again.
Then I clicked on the Color Blend on the tool bar and chose Radial. The chanel is set on Gray.
Here's where I get lost.
It says in the help to drag a line across to get the blend, but it does nothing. I'm not sure what to do after this point.
That's OK so far. You can't see anything because you have a working layer and not a normal layer.
No double click on the Clut symbol in the layer dialog. The Clut dialog comes up. Setup here a gamma value and see what happens.

Gerhard