Brush Softness

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
Alan9940
Mitglied

Brush Softness

Beitrag von Alan9940 »

Hello All:

I've been playing around with all the various brush settings--double-click on the brush icon below toolbar to bring up brush editor--but, I can seem to get a really soft brush edge even with Inner Radius set to 0.0. Over in Tool Settings with the brush selected, I really don't understand what checking "Smooth" and changing count & weight gets me. I've checked it, moved the sliders all around, painted with a black brush on a white background, but still don't see much difference.

Is it possible to get a really soft brush like what I'd have in Photoshop with feather set to 100%? Based on what I've seen so far, an Inner Radius of 0.0 in PL appears to be about equal to a 10 - 20% feather in Photoshop; not nearly as soft as what I'm looking for...I want an undetectable edge. Can I get this?

Thanks, again, for all your help. Sorry, I know I'm a newbie, but I'll get there one day! :)

Best regards,
AlanH
Herbert123
Mitglied

Re: Brush Softness

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

Yes, you can, but you will need to change the curve to a hollow one. An extreme hollow curve will give you a very soft brush. Check out this screengrab:
Untitled.jpg
Btw, the "smooth" option has nothing to do with the brush smoothness - it allows for more smooth looking strokes with less jitter.
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Hoogo
Betatester

Beitrag von Hoogo »

You can see smooth in action hen you choose a small, hard brush.
Draw something jaggy without "smooth".
Then enable smooth with a high value for count and draw again.
----------------