Photoline in Linux/Wine with HiDPI

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
kybos
Mitglied
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 26 May 2014 10:16

Photoline in Linux/Wine with HiDPI

Post by kybos » Sun 27 Jan 2019 17:17

I am trying to use PL (21.01) in Wine 4.0 (Linux Mint 19.1) with a 4k screen. Wine is set to 192dpi.
The icons in PL and most of the texts scale correctly, but all the tabstrip titles and also the layer descriptions are not scaled at all, they are so small as to be unreadable (it is still much smaller in reality than in the screenshot below). Also the cursor in the layer dialog is a little displaced but this is not a big issue.

Example:
PL_Wine_HiDPI.png
I guess this is more a problem in Wine, but perhaps somebody has a solution or a hint.
PL seems to run pretty well in Wine otherwise, so I hope it can be solved somehow.

Thanks,
kybos
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
russellcottrell
Mitglied
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat 26 Jul 2014 10:13

Re: Photoline in Linux/Wine with HiDPI

Post by russellcottrell » Sun 27 Jan 2019 22:06

In Fedora 28, Wine 4.0 stable, when I scale wine up to 192 the titles scale with the rest. But I do not have a high-def screen.

Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3451
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Photoline in Linux/Wine with HiDPI

Post by Martin Huber » Mon 28 Jan 2019 16:32

I just updated my Wine to 4.0 (Linux Mint 19.1, too), set the dpi to 192 via wincfg and started PhotoLine. Everything looked fine.

I am not a wine expert, but did you maybe change one of the Windows fonts. The small items of your screenshot are drawn using the so-called "small caption font", a font used in Windows to draw the title of utility windows.

Martin

kybos
Mitglied
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 26 May 2014 10:16

Re: Photoline in Linux/Wine with HiDPI

Post by kybos » Tue 29 Jan 2019 20:48

I was not aware of having manipulated something relevant (it was an almost clean install of Wine, with only 2 or 3 programs installed before PhotoLine), but obviously there was something wrong with it.
I purged everything and reinstalled, now Photoline looks perfectly OK!

Thank you!
Kybos