Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Hier diskutieren die Betatester von PhotoLine untereinander und mit den Entwicklern
User avatar
asharpe
Mitglied
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2013 07:01
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by asharpe »

Martin Huber wrote: Fri 09 Mar 2018 15:07 Follow up: The problem here only occurs if the document profile and the screen profile are the same. Does this match your situation?
IMO this is an error in macOS and I filed a bug report with them. We will additionally insert a fix in PhotoLine. Martin
The profile I see when I use Tool->Color->Set Color Profile is Adobe RGB(1998) and Perceptual. The Display profile in System Preferences is also Adobe RGB(1998). If I turn on Pixel Mode, and then change the document profile to (for example) iMac Calibrated, you are correct that I no longer see the problem. That was good sleuthing on your part!
Paul
Mitglied
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri 19 Dec 2008 11:36

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Paul »

Wraparound/text flow behaviour

Hi, I 've come across some strange behaviour in text shape flow.
When I group some images into one group and make the text wrap around this groupframe, it's OK. I move this groupframe and the text wraps around it. Now when I move one of the images inside the groupframe, the wraparound is not updated until I move the entire group frame, or the tekstframe.
But when I group every single image inside the groupframe, and I move one of the (grouped) images, the update of the wraparound is immediate.
Same is for vector shapes and placeholder frames.
This was also in V20.53
See also the attached PLD file. Inside the group frame, the blue circle can be moved with immediate results, but moving the green square does not affect the text until the textframe or the groupframe is moved.

- Paul
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3757
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Martin Huber »

Paul wrote: Sat 10 Mar 2018 18:37When I group some images into one group and make the text wrap around this groupframe, it's OK. I move this groupframe and the text wraps around it. Now when I move one of the images inside the groupframe, the wraparound is not updated until I move the entire group frame, or the tekstframe.
(...) See also the attached PLD file. Inside the group frame, the blue circle can be moved with immediate results, but moving the green square does not affect the text until the textframe or the groupframe is moved.
Thanks for the sample file. I will fix that.

Martin
User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Hoogo »

Grad ne spontane Eingebung bekommen, weil das Wort "Visio" gefallen ist.
Ist noch frisch und nicht durchdacht:
Einen magnetischen Punkt als Ebenenart oder sowas.
Wie an Hilfslinien könnten andere Punkte an dem Punkt einrasten.
Und wenn der Punkt verschoben wird, wandern die eingerasteten Punkte mit.
Könnte innerhalb der Cliparts nützlich sein.
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1953
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Herbert123 »

Martin, I sent a file to info@pl32.com - it is a PLD file that has an odd issue: when I try to copy the page group "Videos" or "Video" PhotoLine refuses to include virtual layers. It has something to do with the video icon which I created in PhotoLine.

Could you have a look? Perhaps it is something I did, but it feels like a weird bug to me.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3757
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Martin Huber »

Herbert123 wrote: Wed 14 Mar 2018 12:23 Martin, I sent a file to info@pl32.com - it is a PLD file that has an odd issue: when I try to copy the page group "Videos" or "Video" PhotoLine refuses to include virtual layers. It has something to do with the video icon which I created in PhotoLine.
This will be fixed in the next version.

Martin
User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Hoogo »

Wow, I didn't know that .ai could be read!
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
Eurgail
Mitglied
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun 06 Jul 2014 23:02

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Eurgail »

Hoogo wrote: Fri 16 Mar 2018 18:21 Wow, I didn't know that .ai could be read!
It doesn't; PhotoLine is able to read the embedded PDF information of the AI file.
(To embed PDF information into the AI files is usually activated in Illustrator, just as well as embedding AI information into PDF files.)
User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Hoogo »

Eurgail wrote: Fri 16 Mar 2018 20:10It doesn't; PhotoLine is able to read the embedded PDF information of the AI file.
(To embed PDF information into the AI files is usually activated in Illustrator, just as well as embedding AI information into PDF files.)
Anyways, it's nice. And nice that Adobe offers something so helpful to exchange data with other programs.
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
Eurgail
Mitglied
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun 06 Jul 2014 23:02

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Eurgail »

Absolutely! :-)
I just wanted to make the behavior clear. It's far away from editing AI files and i've AI files, that are older or created with other applications (so both without PDF information embedded) and they simply give an error in PL...
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1953
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Herbert123 »

Bug: when a document colour's transparency is changed, nothing happens.

Create a document colour. Change the transparency of that colour. Expected behaviour: the transparency factor of that document colour should be adjusted and applied to all objects.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1953
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Herbert123 »

Misspelled word: Open a document, make a change. Then File-->Revert to Saved. In that dialog it is stated "Do you really want to loose changes?"

"loose" is incorrect and an entirely different word. The correct spelling is "lose"
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1953
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Herbert123 »

Funky bug: A friend of mine sent me a jpg file without a name ".jpg". It opens fine in PhotoLine, but when I attempt to use "Save As", PhotoLine's Save As dialog won't open. Nothing happens. "Save" does work, and the ".pld" file saves when the automatic sidecar option is selected.

But again, trying to save this PLD with the Save As option doesn't do anything. The dialog isn't displayed.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3757
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Martin Huber »

Herbert123 wrote: Sat 17 Mar 2018 16:37 Bug: when a document colour's transparency is changed, nothing happens.
Well, that's by design. This way you can use a single document color with multiple transparencies (for example in gradients). We use that heavily in our icon file.

I can only think of a dual strategy: Opaque document colors are applied without transparency, transparent ones with.

Martin
User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1953
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b8

Post by Herbert123 »

Martin Huber wrote: Mon 19 Mar 2018 10:09
Herbert123 wrote: Sat 17 Mar 2018 16:37 Bug: when a document colour's transparency is changed, nothing happens.
Well, that's by design. This way you can use a single document color with multiple transparencies (for example in gradients). We use that heavily in our icon file.

I can only think of a dual strategy: Opaque document colors are applied without transparency, transparent ones with.

Martin
I do like that notion, and understand the usefulness of separating transparency from the colour.

But please do add that option to have transparency included in a document colour - for screen design this is essential to have. Perhaps a simple "include transparency" checkbox when defining the document colour would provide a simple solution?
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait