Photoline creates artifacts when I rescale image

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
podperson
Mitglied
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2008 20:13

Photoline creates artifacts when I rescale image

Post by podperson » Thu 17 Jan 2008 21:02

Attached is a sample image. I rescale it (bicubic, 33%), and now the (smaller) image has ugly lines running through it.

The problem does not occurs with bilinear rescaling, but it does occurs with Lanczos 3/8. It does not occur for "powers of 2" rescaling.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Photoline creates artifacts when I rescale image

Post by Hoogo » Thu 17 Jan 2008 22:25

Strange, it works fine here. Lanczos creates quite some ringing, but no algorithm creates such lines. Did you try exactly the same file you uploaded?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

lutz
Mitglied
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed 12 Apr 2006 19:53

Re: Photoline creates artifacts when I rescale image

Post by lutz » Fri 18 Jan 2008 00:40

Same here, at least on my windows machine no lines or bands visible. Perhaps it is a MAC phenomenon?

Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3693
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Photoline creates artifacts when I rescale image

Post by Martin Huber » Fri 18 Jan 2008 09:44

lutz wrote:Perhaps it is a MAC phenomenon?
Yes, it really seems to be a Mac-specific problem. And - at least with the given image - the pattern is not created, if the image has been converted to 16-bit before.

Martin

Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3693
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Photoline creates artifacts when I rescale image

Post by Martin Huber » Mon 28 Jan 2008 11:34

Martin Huber wrote:
lutz wrote:Perhaps it is a MAC phenomenon?
Yes, it really seems to be a Mac-specific problem. And - at least with the given image - the pattern is not created, if the image has been converted to 16-bit before.
The problem is fixed in version 14.10.

Martin