How long have you been working with PL

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
wmjordan
Mitglied

How long have you been working with PL

Beitrag von wmjordan »

I've been using PL32 for many years, at least 12, if I manage to remember how long it has been, and it still runs great!

I've already forgotten what version number it was (may be 4.9 or something else) when the first time I ran PL on a 486 second-hand(or more-'hands' ^_^) laptop with only 16MB RAM. Hmm, no more image processing programs with advanced features like layers, filters, etc. could survive on that poor machine. But PL did. It was very buggy (I even found a way to use it without registration or cracking, by exploiting one of its flaws only) and it occasionally crashed once a while at that time. But it did its job well other than that.
I remembered that at the first time when I ran its installer, it claimed its authors wanted to develop it as a 'many-functioned' but small and fast application. It was so. And it is so.

Nowadays, PL32 launches, without many plugins, in less than 5 seconds on my 6 years old desktop PC running Windows XP with 1G RAM today! Still fast and 'many-functioned' and it is solid and no longer crashes.

How long have you been working with PL?
Zuletzt geändert von wmjordan am Di 02 Mär 2010 14:02, insgesamt 1-mal geändert.
Paul
Mitglied

Re: How long have you been working with PL

Beitrag von Paul »

Hi,

I must have been working with PL since 1996 or 1997 on my Atari. So, 13 or 14 years. Then it had no competition on the platform. I used it mainly to correct scans.
When I switched to Mac and later to Windows too, I was very happy to work with it, being a VERY affordable alternative to PS on both my computers.
And I must say, I use it more and more often. It is great fun exploring all its possibilities, like serial document and really big documents, 2,5 meters x 0,60 meters.
I run a small printing office and practically all of my posters and flyers come from PL.