Coloring an Image

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
mojosam
Mitglied

Coloring an Image

Beitrag von mojosam »

I'm still very new to PL and have a lot to learn. I had a line drawing that I wanted to colorize. I eventually figured out a way to do it. See image below.

I needed a different colored gradient for each body segment. The only way I could figure to do that was to duplicate the image into 12 identical layers. Then create an image mask for each layer. The mask would only make visible the one colored body segment of its layer. The rest of that layer would be transparent. If you look at the layer list in the image below, you'll see what I did.

This took a while and seems cumbersome. Is there a simpler or more efficient way to produce the same final image?
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
Paul
Mitglied

Re: Coloring an Image

Beitrag von Paul »

Hi, in my opinion there would be 2 alternatives. The simple one is to get rid of all the colours except the black, and use the flood fill function in each part with a gradient. Disadvantage is that you can't change the fill afterwards.
Another approach with a simpler image like this is to get rid of all the colours except the black. Then change the layer type to vector. This may need some experimenting for the right setting. And perhaps optimise the vector layer. When you now split the vector layer, all the parts are separated and vectorised. You can now fill each element with the desired fill gradient and change it afterwards if you want to. Also, you can group different elements and change the fill in one click. Disadvantages are that it is a bit more work and you depend on how accurate the conversion to vector is, which depends on the smoothness of the image. It may need some finetuning to get it smoother and/or sharper. But this can also be done after separating and filling.