Change RGB -> LAB display difference

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
gennadiy
Mitglied
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue 23 Jan 2018 10:06
Location: Russia

Change RGB -> LAB display difference

Post by gennadiy »

HI.

Change RGB to the Lab mode on the layer.
On the monitor, the image changes - in the shadows darkens.
Like the SoftProof mode.
(win7)
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3929
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Change RGB -> LAB display difference

Post by Martin Huber »

gennadiy wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 07:37 Change RGB to the Lab mode on the layer.
On the monitor, the image changes - in the shadows darkens.
Like the SoftProof mode.
(win7)
Do you still work with color management turned off?

If so: What do you expect when converting a a non-color managed color space to a color managed one?
And then soft-proofing the color managed one whithout color manangement?

I think it is best to remove the option to turn off color management. It only leads to trouble.

If you then to work without color management, you will have to use the screen profile as default RGB profile/document profile. And all other color spaces will work as expected.

Martin
gennadiy
Mitglied
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue 23 Jan 2018 10:06
Location: Russia

Re: Change RGB -> LAB display difference

Post by gennadiy »

Martin Huber wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 11:19
Do you still work with color management turned off?


I think it is best to remove the option to turn off color management. It only leads to trouble.

Martin
Color management = ON !!


Please, DO NOT DELETE Color management = OFF !!

I print with the Color Management turned off, convert from outside with Argyll CMS.

The problem is observed in Win7, I did not notice in Win10.
gennadiy
Mitglied
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue 23 Jan 2018 10:06
Location: Russia

Re: Change RGB -> LAB display difference

Post by gennadiy »

Martin Huber wrote: Mon 29 Nov 2021 11:19 If so: What do you expect when converting a a non-color managed color space to a color managed one?
And then soft-proofing the color managed one whithout color manangement?

Martin
Color Management = ON. SoftProof = OFF.
RGB -> LAB >>>>> display change.