Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
mrocha
Mitglied
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu 02 Jun 2022 03:09

Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by mrocha »

Please add a feature on "Manage Plugins" to allow user to add one or more actions for each plugin or external programs, so when you use some plugin PL first run the actions and after send the content to plugin or program. For instance Topaz Remask 4 need a "transparent" layer ever, so a I can add the "transparency" action to Remask. Alien Skin Eye Candy 7, ever need convert to RGB and "Layout - Image - Bring to document size", so I can add this two actions to Eye Candy. This feature can be very useful and can replace Photoshop automation plugins that PL can't handle, as you can see here:

https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.p ... 664#p50664
https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.p ... 668#p50668
https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.p ... 066#p51066
Last edited by mrocha on Wed 07 Sep 2022 02:10, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1261
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by shijan »

isn't it simpler to record a required multi step action, run it from Actions panel by single mouse click, and then use plugin?
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
mrocha
Mitglied
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu 02 Jun 2022 03:09

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by mrocha »

Really this isn't so hard, and even do manually is also possible, for instance add the transparecy every time you use Topaz Remask is not so hard, but you need do it every time, if I record a action in this specific case, I need to run the "flow" every time any way, but if this is done automatically? Because every time you use Topaz Remask , you need it, without one exception, so make sense automatize this essentials actions needed for each plugin. I think would be nice if implement "pre processing actions" and "post processing actions" per plugin 'n external programs. For instance you would add for Eye Candy:

Pre Processing: Convert to RGB and "Bring to document size"

Post Processing: Trim Image

This would be be helpful, imagine you a work which you use Eye Candy 6 times or more, this would decrease a lot the number of needed clicks. But is just one suggestion to devs think about, but anyway thanks your tip about recorded actions, because this feature is nice 'n is a way available currently. And thanks again the other answer about the "Bring to document size"!
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1261
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by shijan »

Well, you can add anything + filter to single action. This will do the things and open external plugin dialog in single click :)

It was a lot of discussions before about option to apply action when you open file, but it all came to conclusion that it is rather confused option and not easy to keep in control.
Last edited by shijan on Sat 04 Jun 2022 01:58, edited 2 times in total.
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
mrocha
Mitglied
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu 02 Jun 2022 03:09

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by mrocha »

Yes today "recorded actions" is the best alternative available to automatize this things, but not completely automatic and fluid for this essential actions for plugins, and need at last a way to add a button to General Toolbar to open the actions list as a menu to avoid the need to keep the actions panel open ever or the need to clicks and more clicks to show and hide the panel. And really this things, as pre and post plugins actions or actions when open files, would be really good things but need to be very well implemented to not result in confusion. And thanks your help again!
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1261
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by shijan »

You can dock any panel as as a tab. Then also right click to any tab to save/load panels layout preset. Here is my basic layout example:
Image

And here is for painting:
Image
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
mrocha
Mitglied
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu 02 Jun 2022 03:09

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by mrocha »

This is a nice feature, but would be added a way to add a button to General Toolbar to open the actions list as a menu to avoid the actions panel, because panels use much screen space, and even as tab, need one click to show and other click to hide everytime you want an action, is so many clicks which the user end keeping the panel open. Thanks again!
chrischa
Mitglied
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu 19 Jul 2012 12:02

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by chrischa »

You can add a button for the Actions-Dialogue to the context-menu (or to the genereal toolbar or to the custom bar). Another approach: you can save several panel layouts, so you could prepare different layouts, depending on what you're doing. (After doing so, you can add buttons for these layouts to context, general or custom menu or add some keyboard-shortcuts.)
Photoline 23 unter Windows 10/64 Bit
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1261
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by shijan »

Yep, just add actions to context menu. That menu could be opened by middle mouse click from anywhere. For example here is how my quick context menu looks like:
ImageImage
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
mrocha
Mitglied
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu 02 Jun 2022 03:09

Re: Auto actions to plugins (Feature Request)

Post by mrocha »

Good tips! Thanks for both!