Cutting vectorial layers.

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
borgo1971
Mitglied
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu 11 Sep 2008 21:03
Location: Tolmezzo (UD) Italia

Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by borgo1971 »

Has PhotoLine a command to cut away vectorial objects? Many times I have to work with huge PDF's, that are so big only because they hold inside masked layers, from which I need to see only a small part. Many times I resolve this issue reducing the masked group of layers to one layer, but this creates a bitmap layer. Sometimes it's not a problem, but other times I'd prefer to hold the vectorial group of layers, cutting away all objects or part of vectorial objects I won't see.
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by shijan »

- Activate search in Layers Panel by clicking "Command F" ("Control F" on Windows).
- Switch to search by layer type
- Uncheck all but "Vector"
- Select all and delete layers
Image
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
borgo1971
Mitglied
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu 11 Sep 2008 21:03
Location: Tolmezzo (UD) Italia

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by borgo1971 »

I guess you didn't understand what I mean... I want to delete all vectors and vector parts that are makesd. Normaly mask is a rectangle, so I'm looking for a way to cut away vectors and vector parts that are outside of this rectangle.
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by shijan »

OK, i understand now. Well, you can make mask invisible by right-click on icon, and then delete all unwanted vector layers.
Image
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
borgo1971
Mitglied
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu 11 Sep 2008 21:03
Location: Tolmezzo (UD) Italia

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by borgo1971 »

PRGC.pdf
I think you have missed the crux of the matter... I'm looking if there's a tool or some workaround to cut even vectors that are partially not masked, and remove all things are hidden from my masks. If I remove entry vectors that has a masked parts, I'll remove even may visible parts (many layers seems to be composed from more than one polygon).
Many years ago, I used VectorWorks (an Architectural CAD) to do some tasks now I do with PhotoLine, and VectorWorks had a crop tool that permitted to cut away all kind of objects from inside or outside a polygon (normally a rectangle) I drew with this tool. So I'm looking if there's a way to do the same in PhotoLine.
If you are interested, you can take a look at the attached file. It's not quite that big (I made it really small removing most of it to fit within the 128KiB limit), but there's some masked stuff I'd like to erase, being sure I don't change what's showing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 4033
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by Hoogo »

There's "Layout > Vector > Cut", but it doesn't work for groups.

I still have to learn about the features of the search function...
I remember something about search by color.
Searching for layers of orange color, selecting all for a union, might help in one way or the other
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by shijan »

Ah, OK, so you want crop parts of vector objects. Cutting parts of vector objects is risky because it may affect the rest of vector shape a little bit. Layout->Vector->Cut partially can can do some destructive vector cutting, but it works in different way.

Vector cutting like you asked probably impossible in PhotoLine yet. So i guess in addition to earlier requested additional Vector Cut mode (or name it "Vector Slice" mode), described here https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.p ... 749#p50749 You may request for "Cut All Bottom Layers by top Layer and Delete Objects Outside/Inside Cutted Area" mode.
Image
Last edited by shijan on Mon 21 Nov 2022 22:05, edited 3 times in total.
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by shijan »

Search Vector Layers by Color explained here https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=6646
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by shijan »

You may also setup settings like this. This allow you to manually drag area and select multiple unwanted objects to delete. not exactly what you asked, but may help quickly get rid of many unwanted layers.
Image
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
borgo1971
Mitglied
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu 11 Sep 2008 21:03
Location: Tolmezzo (UD) Italia

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by borgo1971 »

shijan wrote: Mon 21 Nov 2022 22:13 You may also setup settings like this.
/cut
Yes, this my help. In some cases... but I'll ask developer: why hide this option in this way?! I looked more times on the ability to change selection behavior, but pointer tool option! In any case, it my be a good idea make it reversible in a handy way... like pressing an option key.
borgo1971
Mitglied
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu 11 Sep 2008 21:03
Location: Tolmezzo (UD) Italia

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by borgo1971 »

shijan wrote: Mon 21 Nov 2022 22:02 Search Vector Layers by Color explained here https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=6646
Thanks... but can't make it work on file above. And in any case, this file has many time less object and layers than the original file or other files. And with them it's not so simple select all kind of vectors by colours.
borgo1971
Mitglied
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu 11 Sep 2008 21:03
Location: Tolmezzo (UD) Italia

Re: Cutting vectorial layers.

Post by borgo1971 »

shijan wrote: Mon 21 Nov 2022 21:59 "Cut All Bottom Layers by top Layer and Delete Objects Outside/Inside Cutted Area"
Yesss... this seems what I'm looking for.