How do you convert an image into LAB Mode?

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
lutz
Mitglied
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed 12 Apr 2006 19:53

How do you convert an image into LAB Mode?

Post by lutz » Wed 12 Apr 2006 20:17

How do you convert an image into LAB Mode in PL32?

It imports LAB images fine, but how do you convert them? I cannot find the otion.

Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3696
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: How do you convert an image into LAB Mode?

Post by Martin Huber » Wed 12 Apr 2006 20:30

lutz wrote:How do you convert an image into LAB Mode in PL32?

It imports LAB images fine, but how do you convert them? I cannot find the otion.
You can do this by using "Layer/Convert Layer Type". This is the central function for all types of conversion.

Martin

lutz
Mitglied
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed 12 Apr 2006 19:53

thanks for the info!

Post by lutz » Thu 13 Apr 2006 21:10

thanks for the info!

User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Post by Hoogo » Fri 14 Apr 2006 12:14

I found that these LAB-Layers offer me a feature I have been looking for when using gradation (don't know if it's called like that in english). What else are these layers useful for? What is their purpose?

lutz
Mitglied
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed 12 Apr 2006 19:53

LAB image editing

Post by lutz » Sat 15 Apr 2006 05:18

Editing in LAB colorspace has supposedly lots of advantages for sharpening, since it provides the only way to separate the luminosity information from the color information. Apparently the separtion is not complete in the standard HSV space. However LAB allows also unique ways for editing colors and creating selections. It has been promoted a lot by photoshop guru Dan Margulis. If you have a look at Amazon at the discussions about his book : "Photoshop LAB Color : The Canyon Conundrum and Other Adventures in the Most Powerful Colorspace" you will get some ideas.
I have not tried it myself but would like to give it a whirl in Photoline.

Some more info on LAB at:

http://www.creativepro.com/story/feature/12869.html
http://www.ledet.com/margulis/LABCorrection.pdf

hoogo wrote:I found that these LAB-Layers offer me a feature I have been looking for when using gradation (don't know if it's called like that in english). What else are these layers useful for? What is their purpose?

User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Post by Hoogo » Sun 16 Apr 2006 21:47

Thanks a lot, that gives me something to read for a while.