Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Hier diskutieren die Betatester von PhotoLine untereinander und mit den Entwicklern
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3138
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Martin Huber » Thu 07 Jun 2018 09:40

Eurgail wrote:
Thu 07 Jun 2018 00:17
PhotoLine stürtzt ab,
wenn eine Farbe ausgewählt ist,
man im Farbauswahldialog auf Muster wechselt und dort,
ohne ein Muster auszuwählen, Rotation oder Scherung verändert.
Ja, ich schau's mir an.

Martin

Eurgail
Mitglied
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun 06 Jul 2014 23:02

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Eurgail » Thu 07 Jun 2018 16:39

Eurgail wrote:
Thu 07 Jun 2018 00:17
PhotoLine stürtzt ab,
"stürzt" natürlich... :oops:
Martin Huber wrote:
Thu 07 Jun 2018 09:40
Ja, ich schau's mir an.
Super :)

User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Herbert123 » Sat 09 Jun 2018 20:22

Just out of curiosity: now that new layout features are being implemented, will you be adding Master page(s) as well? That, and a symbol panel, are really the last two key ingredients for effective layout design (whether for screen or print).

Even a simple dropdown in the page panel that allows any page to be used as a Master would be a solution.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait

User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Herbert123 » Mon 11 Jun 2018 02:30

Bug: Dragging and dropping a group that has a distort applied to it and that group includes a text layer to another file will not update the text layer in the file that it was dragged into. Turning the DIstort off and on refreshes and restores the distort.

Steps to recreate:
1) create a group with a text layer in it.
2) apply a distort effect or use the distort tool to warp the group
3) drag that group to another file in PhotoLine (Window-->Tile Vertical)

Result: the distort is lost. Other layer types remain unaffected, though (vector layers remain distorted).

Related bug: dragging and dropping a bitmap layer in a group that is distorted will not distort the bitmap layer. The user must turn the distort effect off and back on to make it work.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait

Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3138
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Martin Huber » Mon 11 Jun 2018 09:47

Herbert123 wrote:
Mon 11 Jun 2018 02:30
Bug: Dragging and dropping a group that has a distort applied to it and that group includes a text layer to another file will not update the text layer in the file that it was dragged into. Turning the DIstort off and on refreshes and restores the distort.

Steps to recreate:
1) create a group with a text layer in it.
2) apply a distort effect or use the distort tool to warp the group
3) drag that group to another file in PhotoLine (Window-->Tile Vertical)

Result: the distort is lost. Other layer types remain unaffected, though (vector layers remain distorted).
I can't reproduce this with a simple group containing a single vector and text layer.
Herbert123 wrote:
Mon 11 Jun 2018 02:30
Related bug: dragging and dropping a bitmap layer in a group that is distorted will not distort the bitmap layer.
This one is reproducible. I will fix it.

Martin

User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Herbert123 » Mon 11 Jun 2018 11:15

I also noticed weird red rasters ("gitter") appearing in parts of texts when using the distort tool.
Untitled.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait

User avatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3533
Joined: Mon 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Location: Bad Gögging

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Gerhard Huber » Mon 11 Jun 2018 11:18

Herbert123 wrote:
Mon 11 Jun 2018 11:15
I also noticed weird red rasters ("gitter") appearing in parts of texts when using the distort tool.
that's distorted spell checker. It won't appear if you write correct words :-)

User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Herbert123 » Mon 11 Jun 2018 11:35

Gerhard Huber wrote:
Mon 11 Jun 2018 11:18
Herbert123 wrote:
Mon 11 Jun 2018 11:15
I also noticed weird red rasters ("gitter") appearing in parts of texts when using the distort tool.
that's distorted spell checker. It won't appear if you write correct words :-)
Hah! Right, that there is a sign to hit the snooze button. It's 2:30 at night here.
Good night!
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait

User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Herbert123 » Sat 23 Jun 2018 23:43

Potential bug regarding GUI responsiveness.

I haven't exactly pinpointed what the underlying cause(s) is/are, but I am encountering the following issue on a regular basis now: at times when I am grouping layers and try to rename the group, or when I am working with layers and renaming, the GUI becomes unresponsive.

I can still open the menus, and those work. The main PhotoLine windows can be maximized, dragged, etc. When I hover over the layer stack panel, the cursor is stuck in text cursor mode. Dropdown elements in the tool settings still work, but the buttons don't. Nor do panels respond to mouse input anymore, but when I hover over a button the tooltip does appear. But I can't click it, nor does it highlight.

Switching to full screen or closing the documents and reopening documents doesn't resolve it. The top menu bar remains responsive, and works. But the rest of the interface is unresponsive.

It usually happens when I work with the layers panel and the layer labels. Again, it happens a couple of times per week, and I am unsure what the exact steps are to reproduce this behaviour. But it has something to do with renaming layers, or hovering over the layer labels, I think.

Only by saving the document and restarting PhotoLine do these issues go away. But when I quit PhotoLine when this happens, I cannot restart PhotoLine because PhotoLine is still running in the background. It closes the main window, but I have to use Process Explorer to manually kill the PhotoLine.exe file, and restart PhotoLine afterwards. So some kind of process is blocking PhotoLine from responding to GUI mouse input (but not blocking the menus or the main window) and preventing it from being closed properly when I quit PhotoLine either by File-->

I also noticed at times that switching between the Wacom and the mouse seems to cause a similar lockup, where I can either the one or the other.

*EDIT I was able to reproduce this now. Still a bit more experimenting to figure out the exact order of steps, but it generally occurs when creating a new layer group, double-clcking the layer name, then clicking on another label, or something.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait

Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3138
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Martin Huber » Mon 25 Jun 2018 09:38

Herbert123 wrote:
Sat 23 Jun 2018 23:43
*EDIT I was able to reproduce this now. Still a bit more experimenting to figure out the exact order of steps, but it generally occurs when creating a new layer group, double-clcking the layer name, then clicking on another label, or something.
Yes, it would be helpful, if you could identify the exact steps, because I am not able to reproduce that here.

How dow you create the new group (main menu, context menu, shortcut)? Does the way of grouping make any difference?

Martin

User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Herbert123 » Wed 27 Jun 2018 00:51

I have had a couple of GUI freezes now which had nothing to do with grouping. It generally happens when I edit the layer name and drag from that spot, but so far no exact steps to reproduce it.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait

User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Herbert123 » Sat 30 Jun 2018 20:46

It's happening a lot. Generally when I try to rename stuff, but even when not. The GUI locks up, I need to restart PhotoLine, kill the process, and reboot.

*edit* Now that I am working on a new game, and creating a lot of game assets, it's become utterly unworkable. Today PhotoLine locked up after every couple minutes of working. Perhaps it is something running on my system that messes up PhotoLine? Although I haven't changed anything in the past 6 months.

Frustrating. I'll make a screen recording to show what happens and upload it later.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait

Paul
Mitglied
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri 19 Dec 2008 11:36

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Paul » Sat 30 Jun 2018 22:19

Hi,
I've had this freeze a few times. No idea what caused it. Almost everything seemed to work except inside the windows.
Sometime after I dragged something from the browse window, sometime after I changed the transparency of a frame.
In the latest rc1 version I haven't encountered it anymore. (fingers crossed) Do you use this version?
(iMac)

- Paul

User avatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sat 12 May 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Herbert123 » Sat 30 Jun 2018 22:39

Just installed the 21RC1 release, and it seems to have cleared up.

I do experience screen redraw problems, though.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 920@3.6Ghz, p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait

Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 3138
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 20.90b11

Post by Martin Huber » Mon 02 Jul 2018 09:50

Herbert123 wrote:
Sat 30 Jun 2018 22:39
Just installed the 21RC1 release, and it seems to have cleared up.
Good to hear.
Herbert123 wrote:
Sat 30 Jun 2018 22:39
I do experience screen redraw problems, though.
As always: If you have a sample document to reproduce the problem, it is highly welcome.

Martin