Disable or enable "Camera White Point" in RAW?

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1598
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Disable or enable "Camera White Point" in RAW?

Post by shijan »

If is possible to explain what actual WB value used for RAW file if "Camera White Point" unchecked?
If i want to pick WB manually precise in Linear gamma with Channel Mixer or White Point (method described here viewtopic.php?p=50041#p50041), is it better to enable or disable "Camera White Point" in RAW settings? Is it possible that disabled "Camera White Point" will give me technically "better" starting point for such manual WB adjustment in Linear gamma?

P.S. It would be nice if WB value (Temperature/Tint) was visible in RAW Layer Attributes. It also would be nice if it was possible to change WB for real in RAW Layer Attributes with picker or with numbers entered manually.
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 4191
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Disable or enable "Camera White Point" in RAW?

Post by Martin Huber »

shijan wrote: Fri 05 May 2023 23:10 If is possible to explain what actual WB value used for RAW file if "Camera White Point" unchecked?
I don't understand the question. If "Camera White Point" is unchecked, no wite point correction is applied.
shijan wrote: Fri 05 May 2023 23:10If i want to pick WB manually precise in Linear gamma with Channel Mixer or White Point (method described here viewtopic.php?p=50041#p50041), is it better to enable or disable "Camera White Point" in RAW settings? Is it possible that disabled "Camera White Point" will give me technically "better" starting point for such manual WB adjustment in Linear gamma?
"Better" is a matter of personal preferences. Using camera white point is giving you an easier starting point, don't using it might - in theory - offer you more flexibility.
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1598
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Disable or enable "Camera White Point" in RAW?

Post by shijan »

I mean if "no wite point correction is applied", what WB values are set? Or maybe LibRaw do WB in some own way? I looked at LibRaw forums and seems white balance set there by setting cam_mul (custom values).
What i ask is how to visualize that "no wite point correction is applied" if use Temp/Tint system or RGB numbers system? This could help for example if i want to match WB between PhotoLine and other RAW editor.

Here is example form Iridient Developer which have 3 different modes to represent WB settings:
Image

Image

Image
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 4191
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Disable or enable "Camera White Point" in RAW?

Post by Martin Huber »

shijan wrote: Tue 09 May 2023 01:37 I mean if "no wite point correction is applied", what WB values are set?
The answer ist still: None.
shijan wrote: Tue 09 May 2023 01:37 Or maybe LibRaw do WB in some own way? I looked at LibRaw forums and seems white balance set there by setting cam_mul (custom values).
This is not "some own way". LibRaw reads the white point from the raw file and uses that values when the option isn't turned off.
shijan wrote: Tue 09 May 2023 01:37What i ask is how to visualize that "no wite point correction is applied" if use Temp/Tint system or RGB numbers system?
I don't understand that.

Martin
User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 4039
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Disable or enable "Camera White Point" in RAW?

Post by Hoogo »

I assume that "no white point" means that the raw bytes from the file are used. So if you read FFFFFF for RGB from the file, then that is treated as white, and you don't care that the 3 channels have different sensitivities. So in some way the whitepoint is FFFFFF, while a better whitepoint with more reasonable colors might be E0FFD0
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!