Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Hier diskutieren die Betatester von PhotoLine untereinander und mit den Entwicklern
Benutzeravatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Beiträge: 4279
Registriert: Mo 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Wohnort: Bad Gögging

Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Gerhard Huber »

Hallo,

es gibt wieder eine neue Testversion 24.40b17.

Windows:
https://www.pl32.com/beta/pl2440b17.zip

macOS:
https://www.pl32.com/beta/plx2440b17.zip

Neues:
  • Malwerkzeuge, CapsLock: Pinsel passt sich sofort dem Drücken CapsLock-Status an
  • In der Werkzeugleiste für Bilder kann das Symbolfeld, das "Maske beachten" und so weiter enthält, angepasst werden ("Einstellungen > Bedienung > Symbolleisten > Bildwerkzeuge")
  • Malwerkzeuge, CapsLock: Pinsel passt sich sofort dem Drücken CapsLock-Status an
Benutzeravatar
shijan
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2044
Registriert: Mo 23 Dez 2019 15:21
Wohnort: Ukraine

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von shijan »

Some other problems fixed in 24.40b17 added to Large List of Bugfixes 2019-2024:
  • Request/Idea: use Caps Lock as quick toggle Outline/Preview brush settings.
  • Request/Idea: Modern flat redesign of red sphere Light control.
  • Request/Idea: Move layer using Command+Arrow with custom step size (or match step size to Grid Size) when "Use Pixel Grid" enabled (now available in PhotoLine.xml code)
  • Request/Idea: User setting to hide little arrow buttons near numerical fields (now available in PhotoLine.xml code)
  • In Settings -> Working -> Cursor "Painting Tools with Preview" English translation missing in macOS.
  • In Settings -> File -> JPEG "Load multi-level images on smartphones" English translation missing.
  • Brush outline looks smoothed and not pixel perfect if "Painting tools with preview" enabled.
  • Visual artifact when changing text size and use "Run on Path" and "Distort Characters".
  • Image artifact when in 8-bit document Gaussian Blur in HSV mode placed inside Star or Flower vector object with Green and Blue color set to 0%.
  • Line Style Editor and Line Pattern Editor quick panels automatically closes after first click.
  • In Layer Style Special Emboss Texture resets to black color, when switch between "Relative To" modes. This happens only if Texture checkbox "Enabled" unchecked. Same problem in "Create Texture" Layer Style. If change "Relative To" when "Create from intensity" enabled, texture always resets to chessboard pattern.
  • Visual artifact when transform vector object inside group with applied Layer Style.
  • Some imported Photoshop raster brushes show different size in Brush Editor thumbnail and slider and also outline blinks.
  • When change color mode in Color Info panel, icons sometimes don't updates until i click on panel again.
  • In List view Info panel hovered dropbox button shape don't match to outline frame shape.
  • Request/Idea: In Color Info panel in List Mode show fifth field only if use CMYK mode.
  • When "Painting tools with preview" enabled, in Filter Brush tool preview don't updates when switch between filters in menu.
  • Program crash if press Caps Lock and use Brush or Eraser and if "Painting tools with preview" and "Outline" enabled
  • Program crash if in Stamp Tool select 16-bit pld file stamp.
  • Program crash when in Working -> Cursor enable "Painting tools with preview" and set Center and Outline to "None"
  • "Painting Tools with Preview" don't works with Airbrush Tool
  • "Painting Tools with Preview" creates visual artifact if there is a text layer on top of painting layer.
  • Stamp Tool creates stamp preview visual artifact if "Painting Tools with Preview" disabled.
  • In Gray mode document and Light UI setting 144, Histogram became invisible.
  • Color Filter applied in 32-bit depth creates "reversed brightness" effect in recovered data. (Seems problem was because in earlier versions Color Filter used max white value somewhere near 99.9% instead of true 100%)
Here are also new custom code settings for PhotoLine.xml:
Move layer using Command+Arrow with custom step size (or match step size to Grid Size) when "Use Pixel Grid" enabled
0: to use Grid Size.
Custom number to use any fixed custom size.

Code: Alles auswählen

<Settings><LayerMoveLargeOffset>0</LayerMoveLargeOffset></Settings>
Hide little double arrow buttons near numerical fields. Unfortunately this will not increase sliders length.
0: Don't create spin sliders next to text fields.

Code: Alles auswählen

<UI><SpinSlider>0</SpinSlider></UI>
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
Benutzeravatar
shijan
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2044
Registriert: Mo 23 Dez 2019 15:21
Wohnort: Ukraine

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von shijan »

Problem with Color Filter reversed brightness described in other thread https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?t=7075 was fixed in 24.40b17. Seems source of the problem was very simple - in earlier versions Color Filter used max white value somewhere near 99.9% instead of true 100%. So if you want to match legacy look and feel of Color Filter, just set max bright value to 99.9%.
colorfilterold-.jpg
colorfilter-new-.jpg
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
Zuletzt geändert von shijan am Mi 28 Aug 2024 05:28, insgesamt 1-mal geändert.
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
Benutzeravatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2455
Registriert: Sa 12 Mai 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

The lack of contrast of the green curves and levels is still an issue. Ideally PhotoLine would adjust the contrast automatically based on the background colour that is set by the user. Or a setting
2024-07-31 23_41_53-#1.jpg
2024-07-31 23_46_40-#1.jpg
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Benutzeravatar
der_fotograf
Mitglied
Beiträge: 672
Registriert: Mo 05 Dez 2016 08:33
Wohnort: North Germany

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von der_fotograf »

Maybe it is just a Windows problem? As a remedy you might try to change the color scheme of PL a bit to the darker side.

Screenshot 2024-08-02 at 17.26.40.jpg
Screenshot 2024-08-02 at 17.26.03.jpg
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
Nur wenige wissen, wie viel man wissen muss, um zu wissen, wie wenig man weiss.
Only few know how much you have to know to know how little you know.
— Werner Heisenberg [German theoretical physicist]
Benutzeravatar
shijan
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2044
Registriert: Mo 23 Dez 2019 15:21
Wohnort: Ukraine

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von shijan »

Caps Lock toggle is nice, but it only toggles Brush Outline on/off, so global problem still remains and there is no quick single key to turn off "Painting tools with preview" and same time turn on "Outline".

Maybe add some key to cycle trough these 3 modes?:
- Painting tools with preview
- Outline
- Painting tools with preview + Outline
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
Benutzeravatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2455
Registriert: Sa 12 Mai 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

@der_fotograf I wish I could. The colour scheme settings as they are now work best for my eyes and the (very bright) screen that I have. And I generally I really dislike a too dark interface with white lettering.
The settings are exactly right for my situation.

In my opinion this should be automatically adjusted by PhotoLine based on the contrast ratio.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Benutzeravatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2455
Registriert: Sa 12 Mai 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

Dumb question, but: the straighten tool works on a per-layer basis, right? Because I just spent the better part of two hours straightening out quite a few scanned in layers in a document, and now I find that they're all skewed. Only the last one seems straightened.

*EDIT* Just figured out that it adjusts ALL layers!!!

Well, that was gigantic waste of my time :D

Could this tool please have an option to affect one layer only?
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Benutzeravatar
der_fotograf
Mitglied
Beiträge: 672
Registriert: Mo 05 Dez 2016 08:33
Wohnort: North Germany

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von der_fotograf »

If you shift + select or command + select all layers you want to straighten, it works just fine.
Edit: Umh, no, just tried to straighten a single layer… Doesn't work. Maybe you can duplicate the image, remove the layers you don't want to straighten, then copy + paste it back to the original? It's a workaround, but I don't think you need this operation too often to be a hassle in your workflow.
Nur wenige wissen, wie viel man wissen muss, um zu wissen, wie wenig man weiss.
Only few know how much you have to know to know how little you know.
— Werner Heisenberg [German theoretical physicist]
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Beiträge: 4300
Registriert: Di 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Martin Huber »

Herbert123 hat geschrieben: Sa 03 Aug 2024 00:32 Dumb question, but: the straighten tool works on a per-layer basis, right? Because I just spent the better part of two hours straightening out quite a few scanned in layers in a document, and now I find that they're all skewed. Only the last one seems straightened.

*EDIT* Just figured out that it adjusts ALL layers!!!
Well, yes, just like the Crop tool.
Herbert123 hat geschrieben: Sa 03 Aug 2024 00:32Could this tool please have an option to affect one layer only?
"Layer > Rotate Layer" with "Crop" turned on should do that.
Benutzeravatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2455
Registriert: Sa 12 Mai 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

Martin Huber hat geschrieben: Fr 09 Aug 2024 16:20
Herbert123 hat geschrieben: Sa 03 Aug 2024 00:32Could this tool please have an option to affect one layer only?
"Layer > Rotate Layer" with "Crop" turned on should do that.
THANK YOU! :-)

As you know I've worked for years in PhotoLine now, and I still was unaware of this option. I always use the frame handles to rotate layers... But this time I needed the functionality of the straighten tool.

Thanks again.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Benutzeravatar
der_fotograf
Mitglied
Beiträge: 672
Registriert: Mo 05 Dez 2016 08:33
Wohnort: North Germany

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von der_fotograf »

Amazing. I've never really noticed these tiny checkboxes, but they are so important to achieve the desired result.
Nur wenige wissen, wie viel man wissen muss, um zu wissen, wie wenig man weiss.
Only few know how much you have to know to know how little you know.
— Werner Heisenberg [German theoretical physicist]
Benutzeravatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2455
Registriert: Sa 12 Mai 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

der_fotograf hat geschrieben: Sa 10 Aug 2024 06:52 Amazing. I've never really noticed these tiny checkboxes, but they are so important to achieve the desired result.
It does bring up the question about discoverability in the GUI. If two experienced users couldn't find this option, it possibly needs to be more exposed.

I do find that is a problem in parts of PhotoLine's interface design. It's not the first time I couldn't find a function or feature due to it being too well hidden and not exposed to the user in any obvious way.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Benutzeravatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2455
Registriert: Sa 12 Mai 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

I am experiencing a real issue with PhotoLine: it takes quite a long time before it starts up (around a minute). After that, when I try to open the FILE menu PhotoLine takes several minutes before it becomes responsive once more.

Clicking the FILE menu keeps causing PhotoLine to lock up for minutes and minutes. Windows Explorer also becomes unresponsive, and I cannot ALT-TAB between apps or bring up the start menu. I need to use ctrl-alt-delete to pull up the task manager and kill the PhotoLine process (or wait for 5 minutes or so to finish what it is doing).

I have a feeling it might have to do with the recent files list. Where can I delete or empty that file?
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Benutzeravatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2455
Registriert: Sa 12 Mai 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 24.40b17

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

I removed the larger files from their original locations to see if it would help. It did not.

Then I opened the 32bit version of PhotoLine (which also takes a long time to start), and it comes up with an error "A read date was too big".

Not too sure what is going on.

Closing that message, and clicking "File" in the main menu locks up PhotoLine for a looong time again.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait