Reset PL back to original factory settings

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
MikeFromMesa
Mitglied
Beiträge: 261
Registriert: Sa 22 Nov 2014 16:07

Reset PL back to original factory settings

Beitrag von MikeFromMesa »

Is there any way to reset PL back to its original settings short of uninstalling and reinstalling it (well, on my Mac, there isn't actually an uninstall, so that means moving the app to the Trash)? I have searched through the Preferences and not found any way to reset the software.

This request, of course, is due to one of those "Oh! That is a mistake I will not make again!" steps I took when I loaded a new action instead of merging it. I now have only the new action (which works really, really well :D) and would like all of the other actions back again.

I have searched all over my Mac for the original actions and cannot find them anywhere. I cannot even find them in the bundle that makes up PhotoLine.app so I am stuck. My choices now seem to be to either reinstall PL, do without the actions or find some way to reset the app back to its factory settings.

Any suggestions?

-> Me: Doctor. It hurts when I do this.
-> Doctor: OK. Don't do that any more ...

UPDATE:
Solved the problem. Renaming the PL preferences folder in the library folder forces the app to recreate it and that sets everything back to its original state.
Once there, start PL, save the actions to a file, exit, delete the new preferences folder, rename the old one back to its original name, start PL with the original preferences folder and then merge the saved file into the actions. Done.
Benutzeravatar
Hoogo
Beta Tester
Beiträge: 4169
Registriert: So 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Wohnort: Deutschland

Re: Reset PL back to original factory settings

Beitrag von Hoogo »

This happened to all of us. Really :lol:
I found this thread about it.
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
bkh
Beta Tester
Beiträge: 3687
Registriert: Do 26 Nov 2009 22:59

Re: Reset PL back to original factory settings

Beitrag von bkh »

MikeFromMesa hat geschrieben: Once there, start PL, save the actions to a file, exit, delete the new preferences folder, rename the old one back to its original name, start PL with the original preferences folder and then merge the saved file into the actions. Done.
There's actually an even easier way to do that (one in which you don't have to dig for the hidden library folder): Quit PL, create a folder "PhotoLineSettings" in the same folder as the PL application. Restart PL, and it will start with default settings (and, when quitting, store all settings in that PhotoLineSettings folder instead of in Library/Preferences). Move away (or trash) the PhotoLineSettings folder before starting PL, and you'll be back to normal. (See "USB stick mode" in the PL manual.)

Cheers

Burkhard.