Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Hier diskutieren die Betatester von PhotoLine untereinander und mit den Entwicklern
Benutzeravatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Beiträge: 4278
Registriert: Mo 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Wohnort: Bad Gögging

Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von Gerhard Huber »

Hallo,

es gibt wieder eine neue Testversion 25.00b9.

Windows:
https://www.pl32.com/beta/pl2500b9.zip

macOS:
https://www.pl32.com/beta/plx2500b9.zip

Neues:
  • TIFF-Import: Besserer Umgang mit defekten Gamut-Daten
  • Einfügen, Vektor: Unter Windows für SVG und PDF erweitert
  • Einfügen, Bild: Analog abgeändert
  • Optional kann der Bildfarbraum beim Laden eine Dokuments in den Arbeitsfarbraum konvertiert werden
  • Diverse Fehlerbehebungen und kleinere Verbesserungen
Benutzeravatar
Hoogo
Beta Tester
Beiträge: 4169
Registriert: So 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Wohnort: Deutschland

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von Hoogo »

Ich glaube, im ZIP für Windows ist die 25.00 ohne Beta.
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
Benutzeravatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Beiträge: 4278
Registriert: Mo 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Wohnort: Bad Gögging

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von Gerhard Huber »

sorry, da ist wohl ein Fehler passiert. Ich nehme sie erst mal raus und korrigiere das morgen früh.
Benutzeravatar
der_fotograf
Mitglied
Beiträge: 672
Registriert: Mo 05 Dez 2016 08:33
Wohnort: North Germany

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von der_fotograf »

Gerhard Huber hat geschrieben: Di 26 Aug 2025 17:10
  • Optional kann der Bildfarbraum beim Laden eines Dokuments in den Arbeitsfarbraum konvertiert werden
Ganz lieben Dank für diese neue und geniale Funktion, die das Bearbeiten von konvertierten oder gescannten Bilddateien erheblich vereinfacht! Speziell in der Druckvorstufe (PDF/X-4) kann man damit einfach und elegant sicherstellen, dass alle Fotos im gleichen Farbraum vorliegen, ohne eine separate Abschlussprüfung des Dokuments durchführen zu müssen.

like_white_small.jpg
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
Nur wenige wissen, wie viel man wissen muss, um zu wissen, wie wenig man weiss.
Only few know how much you have to know to know how little you know.
— Werner Heisenberg [German theoretical physicist]
Benutzeravatar
Gerhard Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Beiträge: 4278
Registriert: Mo 18 Nov 2002 15:30
Wohnort: Bad Gögging

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von Gerhard Huber »

die Windowsversion ist jetzt auch online
Benutzeravatar
shijan
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2033
Registriert: Mo 23 Dez 2019 15:21
Wohnort: Ukraine

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von shijan »

Some other problems fixed in 25.00b9 added to Large List of Bugfixes 2019-2025:
  • In Windows slider handles feels too small.
  • In Windows UHD display at 2x scaled size, Angle and Light wheels, Color Editor handles, Curves handles looks too too thin.
  • In Windows UHD display at 2x scaled size, palette borders looks too thick. Also selected palette border looks too thick, so it is almost impossible to see selected color.
  • Redraw artifacts in Gradient tool handles.
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
pixel8tor
Mitglied
Beiträge: 72
Registriert: Di 24 Jul 2018 17:15

ICC profile mismatch dialog

Beitrag von pixel8tor »

Hello Hubers,

Another great beta release.

First off, thanks for adding stricter color management when opening a file that's not in the current working color space. PL has needed this for a long time. In fact I think I might have mentioned it years ago.

I was wondering why you need an option to activate the "Abweichung vom eingebetteten Profil" (Deviation from the embedded profile) dialog? Shouldn't that be automatically active if the "Edit->Options...->Color Management->Devices->Activate Color Management" option is checked? And if you do need it for some reason, it would make more sense to put it with the rest of the color management options, rather than buried in "Edit->Options...->File->Open" tab. But do you really need that option at all, just enable it when color management is active.

And of course, as you know, the dialog and most of its text strings are hard coded into Photoline.exe, so there's no easy way to translate it to a different language - currently German. And doesn't it make more sense if "convert to working space" is the default? If the user is using color management they probably want to convert the file to the working space. Also it doesn't seem to work with images with no embedded profile - PL just opens them. Shouldn't the ICC mismatch dialog open instead? ( the "Use embedded profile" option would need to be grayed out )

What's up with the "don't show this dialog again" option? How do you reset that if you've turned it on? Why have that option at all?

And one last observation: Pressing the "Cancel" button doesn't cancel opening the file. PL should just stop and NOT continue opening the file.

Here's a mockup of a less confusing, at least for me, dialog.
CMDialog.jpg
- Pixel8tor -
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
Benutzeravatar
shijan
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2033
Registriert: Mo 23 Dez 2019 15:21
Wohnort: Ukraine

Re: ICC profile mismatch dialog

Beitrag von shijan »

pixel8tor hat geschrieben: So 31 Aug 2025 21:44 If the user is using color management they probably want to convert the file to the working space.
No. When you convert image to different profile, you permanently change image data. So for example if you convert wide gamut image to sRGB - you will lost large amount of colors in your original image from start. So the safe default setting is to keep original color profile. But normally (for any tool or dialog) i guess it is better to remember last selected setting.

Normal color management concept means that you don't need to convert anything manually. Image remains in original ICC profile and you see it in real time converted to your monitor ICC profile.

Similar dialog available in Photoshop, people use it without knowing what they do and damage images. I personally think that this is useless option for PhotoLine, because in Document mode Photoline have lossless color management and so you can do lossless convert to any ICC profile on the fly.
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
pixel8tor
Mitglied
Beiträge: 72
Registriert: Di 24 Jul 2018 17:15

Re: ICC profile mismatch dialog

Beitrag von pixel8tor »

I might have guessed you'd be the first to object - like you usually do. If you find an option "useless" you are free to turn it off. But to imply that users turn on color management and then don't use it properly it is just crazy, and demeans "people". Unless you've overwritten the image on disc nothing is "permanently changed". But if you're speaking from personal experience, well that's on you. And it seems you contradict yourself. First you say "permanently change image data", but later you say "you can do lossless convert to any ICC profile". So which is it? It can't be both! Anyway I disagree with you. Most of the time all images for a project should be in the same color space.
Benutzeravatar
shijan
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2033
Registriert: Mo 23 Dez 2019 15:21
Wohnort: Ukraine

Re: ICC profile mismatch dialog

Beitrag von shijan »

pixel8tor hat geschrieben: So 31 Aug 2025 23:08 I might have guessed you'd be the first to object - like you usually do. If you find an option "useless" you are free to turn it off. But to imply that users turn on color management and then don't use it properly it is just crazy, and demeans "people". Unless you've overwritten the image on disc nothing is "permanently changed". But if you're speaking from personal experience, well that's on you. And it seems you contradict yourself. First you say "permanently change image data", but later you say "you can do lossless convert to any ICC profile". So which is it? It can't be both! Anyway I disagree with you. Most of the time all images for a project should be in the same color space.
If you use Tool->Color->Convert With Color Profile it will permanently change source image data. So after save and close you can not return to original color space anymore. This is same logic as in Photoshop.

If you work in Document Mode and Set some color profile to Document in Document Attributes or to Isolated Folder in Layer Attributes - it will transform colors but will not change source image data. Even if you work in Picture Mode, in PhotoLine every layer could be set to own ICC profile and they are losslless transformed to Background layer ICC profile, so there is no any problem with it.

As i told earlier those who understand how color management works usually never use this automatic convert setting on start. Those who don't understand color management usually attempt to convert color profile (usually to sRGB because they hear that sRGB is a right profile for everything) on start and only got more problems due color data loss.

I didn't say that this setting should be removed. It just feels like legacy and almost useless setting. There are plenty of other very old and very basic requests like 16 bit Brushes, larger sized Layer Styles or better quality "smarter" Remove Brush. Those are real problems that affect image editing quality. But unfortunately developers add mostly cosmetic improvements and not too important new tools.
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
Benutzeravatar
shijan
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2033
Registriert: Mo 23 Dez 2019 15:21
Wohnort: Ukraine

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von shijan »

Here is what i mean about Remove Brush quality problem in PhotoLine. It just can't remove long scratches because can't understand that samples should be picked across drawn direction. It just pick samples randomly from somewhere and don't preserve global texture. I emailed this bug report long long time ago. This is a real problem, not some cosmetic problem that could be simply ignored:
Bild
Bild
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
pixel8tor
Mitglied
Beiträge: 72
Registriert: Di 24 Jul 2018 17:15

Re: ICC profile mismatch dialog

Beitrag von pixel8tor »

Shijan - I disagree with you. And I don't know if you're trying to be demeaning or if that's just the way you are, but I don't appreciate your superiority tone. So please, if you don't have anything *constructive* to say on this topic, go bother someone else. Thanks
Benutzeravatar
shijan
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2033
Registriert: Mo 23 Dez 2019 15:21
Wohnort: Ukraine

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von shijan »

Not sure which tone you hear from me and where. You asked about color management - i answered to you how it works. Nothing personal.
Same time from your side "I disagree with you, go bother someone else" sounds like very constructive and informative reply :)
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
Benutzeravatar
Herbert123
Mitglied
Beiträge: 2455
Registriert: Sa 12 Mai 2012 21:38

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von Herbert123 »

Page Thumbnail bug

In the past two (or older?) versions page thumbnails disappear when I open multi-page documents and click on the page thumbnails in the Pages panel. When I increase or decrease the thumbnail size the thumbnails are restored, only to vanish once more when one or two are selected.
-
2025-09-10 10_39_24-#1.png
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
/*---------------------------------------------*/
System: Win10 64bit - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb (6x8gb RipjawsX), Nvidia GTX1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820, 2XSamsung SA850 (2560*1440) and 1XHP2408H 1920*1200 portrait
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Beiträge: 4300
Registriert: Di 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Neue Testversion 25.00b9

Beitrag von Martin Huber »

Herbert123 hat geschrieben: Mi 10 Sep 2025 19:42 Page Thumbnail bug

In the past two (or older?) versions page thumbnails disappear when I open multi-page documents and click on the page thumbnails in the Pages panel. When I increase or decrease the thumbnail size the thumbnails are restored, only to vanish once more when one or two are selected.
We can't reproduce that, neither on Windows, nor on macOS. Does this happen with every document?