Cannot Select Multiple Layers in Layer List

Here everybody can post his problems with PhotoLine
Eidolon
Mitglied
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed 20 Feb 2008 07:46

Cannot Select Multiple Layers in Layer List

Post by Eidolon »

Greetings.

I’m using PL 23.52 on Mac OS 13.1. I can no longer consistently select multiple layers in the layer list.

Multiple selection worked correctly in the past. Now it does occasionally, but usually I cannot select more than one layer or group at a time.

In the layer list, I click on one layer or group to select it. Then I hold down Shift or Command and click on another layer or group. The selection simply moves to the new click location. Multiple layers are not selected.

Am I doing something wrong?
User avatar
shijan
Mitglied
Posts: 1598
Joined: Mon 23 Dec 2019 15:21
Location: Ukraine

Re: Cannot Select Multiple Layers in Layer List

Post by shijan »

Make sure that "Mark All Selected Layers" is checked in panel menu
Image
PhotoLine UI Icons Customization Project: https://www.pl32.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6302
User avatar
Hoogo
Betatester
Posts: 4039
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2005 13:35
Location: Mülheim/Ruhr

Re: Cannot Select Multiple Layers in Layer List

Post by Hoogo »

Do all the selected layers belong to the same "group"?
You can't include layers from different groups into a selection.
----------------
Herr Doktor, ich bin mir ganz sicher, ich habe Atom! /Doctor, doctor, I'm sure, I've got atoms!
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 4191
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Cannot Select Multiple Layers in Layer List

Post by Martin Huber »

Hoogo wrote: Thu 23 Feb 2023 19:44 Do all the selected layers belong to the same "group"?
You can't include layers from different groups into a selection.
That's not correct. You can select layers from different groups, but it is not possible to select a layer and its group at the same time.

Martin
Martin Huber
Entwickler
Entwickler
Posts: 4191
Joined: Tue 19 Nov 2002 15:49

Re: Cannot Select Multiple Layers in Layer List

Post by Martin Huber »

Eidolon wrote: Thu 23 Feb 2023 18:44 I’m using PL 23.52 on Mac OS 13.1. I can no longer consistently select multiple layers in the layer list.

Multiple selection worked correctly in the past. Now it does occasionally, but usually I cannot select more than one layer or group at a time.

In the layer list, I click on one layer or group to select it. Then I hold down Shift or Command and click on another layer or group. The selection simply moves to the new click location. Multiple layers are not selected.
I just tried it on macOS 13.2.1 and it worked fine.

Is it maybe just a display problem?
What are your settings in the preferences at "Display > User Interface"? Is "Activate Black Mode" on? Do you have a custom selection color? Is Apple's Dark Mode enabled?

If you activate "Working > Special > Layer List with selection field" in the preferences, do checkmarks appear in the selection field on clicking with Command or Shift?
Eidolon wrote: Thu 23 Feb 2023 18:44Am I doing something wrong?
There's not much you can do wrong. Shift/Command+click on the visibility field or on the thumbnail will not alter the selection, but if the mouse pointer is over the thumbnail and you press Shift or Command, the mouse pointer will change its appearance.

Martin
Eidolon
Mitglied
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed 20 Feb 2008 07:46

Re: Cannot Select Multiple Layers in Layer List

Post by Eidolon »

Thank you all for the suggestions. “Mark All Selected Layers” is checked. Selecting multiple layers by clicking only works intermittently. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. I cannot find a pattern.
Martin Huber wrote: Fri 24 Feb 2023 12:53 What are your settings in the preferences at "Display > User Interface"?
My user interface settings are shown in the attached image.
Martin Huber wrote: Fri 24 Feb 2023 12:53 Do you have a custom selection color?
That box is not checked in my PL settings. It seems that PL inherits the accent color and highlight color that I set in the Mac system settings (blue).
Martin Huber wrote: Fri 24 Feb 2023 12:53 Is Apple's Dark Mode enabled?
No
Martin Huber wrote: Fri 24 Feb 2023 12:53 If you activate "Working > Special > Layer List with selection field" in the preferences, do checkmarks appear in the selection field on clicking with Command or Shift?
Activating that option had two effects. (1) The selection color in the layer list changed from blue (which is the system color) to gray. (2) Check boxes appear in the layer list. Making multiple selections now works consistently if I check boxes. But it still works intermittently or not at all if I shift-click or command-click.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.